I’ve just started watching Peaky Blinders. It’s good. I like it, so far. It reminds me a bit of Boardwalk Empire but it seems to have a brisker pace (which is good).

The cast is good. I’m liking Cillian Murphy and Sam Neill. Their accents were a bit jarring at first but they were by no means bad. So far, I’ve not seen much of the other characters. I’m hoping they get some development because they’re a tad stereotyped at the moment.

I’m looking forward to seeing how the series progresses. I know Tom Hardy is in season 2, so that’s something I’m anticipating.

One thing that stood out to me was the production values. The series is gorgeous and pretty. The streets and sets look like 1919 thanks to some great mise-en-scene and CGI. It’s saying something when a big budget American Network show such as Once Upon a Time (which I’ve also recently watched), has poorer production values than a fairly small BBC show.

The only thing I wasn’t keen on was the lighting. I understand that most of the show takes place on stage built sets and unless you use CGI, it’s difficult to recreate 1919 England. But, in almost every scene there is bright light shining into each set causing a lens flare effect. This is annoying because it gives the scene a dreamlike quality which is at odds with the darker, gritty tone the show is trying to give off. This is an issue a lot of TV Shows & films have these days. It’s certainly not one that has originated with Peaky Blinders.

I’m going to continue watching the show. I’m interested and I like the style of the show. Hopefully it gets better.

