Based on the 1st episode of the Preacher TV series, I have some doubts/concerns about the series, but I’m hopeful.

It should be noted that I haven’t read the original graphic novels the series is based on. So, my knowledge about the characters and storylines are limited to this 1 episode.

At this point, I’m not entirely sure what’s going on, nor do I have any idea what might happen going forward. The plot isn’t confusing or anything, it just doesn’t explain itself. For example, there are two characters who show up, have a couple of action scenes and little else. I’ve no idea who these characters are or how they fit into the main storyline of the Preacher.

Speaking of action. The gory, fast paced action is great. It’s a bit reminiscent of the action scenes in the Kingsman film.

The cast meanwhile is great. They each do a good job of making their characters interesting, even if we only get slight hints as to who they are in this episode.

I also want to mention the cinematography, direction & on-location shooting. These elements are all pretty well done. At times, the show looks like a movie. They’re that good.

The biggest drawback of this episode is the length. At 64minutes, it’s too long. I’m assuming the following episodes will be shorter. One of the drawbacks to the episode length is that the pacing is wonky. The 1st half of the episode flies by, but then things slow down rapidly, making the 2nd half drag a bit. This can be avoided in future episodes if they’re shorter.

At this point, it’s far too early to judge the series. It’s a troubled but promising start. I’m interested in the characters. I want to know more. So, I’ll definitely continue watching.

