In anticipation of Deus Ex: Mankind Divided, being released in August, I’ve recently started playing its predecessor, Deus Ex: Human Revolution, for the first time.

One of the reasons I’ve put off playing this for such a long time is because everything I saw about it, reminded me of Blade Runner. Sadly, I’m not a big fan of Blade Runner. It’s a film that I find annoying.

The other reason I’ve not played this until now is that I played the very original Deus Ex not long after it came out, and I wasn’t too keen on it. That being said, I was young (perhaps too young), so if I played it again, now, my views would probably be different.

Now, Human Revolution.

As it turns out, this game oozes Blade Runner. The sci-fi setting is practically ripped right out of the film. You’ve also got various plot elements and characters which would also fit right into the film. The issues surrounding augmented humans, for example, are very similar to issues presented in Blade Runner.

Sadly, this isn’t exactly a good thing. I find the characters in Human Revolution to be bland and wooden. This is partly due to some poor voice acting and a dull script. I’ve yet to see or speak to a character that felt real.

As for the story, there are certainly some interesting themes and ideas but I’m finding very little reason to continue exploring it. I really don’t care what happens or why.

Luckily, the gameplay is a bit better. I was hesitant heading into the game because it’s a first person shooter & I’m not much of a FPS fan. I was therefore surprised to find so much variety & choice in the gameplay. Yes, you can play it as a typical FPS and tackle things head on with a gun. But, there’s a strong emphasis on stealth and dialogue. Both of these I like.

The only big negative I have about the gameplay is the close combat. I don’t like how for a melee takedown you simply push a button, the screen goes black and then you watch a short cutscene of the melee takedown. None of which are that good to begin with. It kinda takes me out of the moment when this happens & as a stealth player, it happens a lot.

There is another thing I really don’t like about the game and that’s the character models. The characters, particularly their heads are, ugly. I can’t really criticise this too much though because the age of the game has to be taken into account. Had I played the game when it originally came out, I very well might have loved the character models (but I doubt it).

Anyhow, the game is ok. Nothing more. Playing it hasn’t deterred me from getting Mankind Divided when it comes out. If anything, it’s made me want Mankind Divided more, because like most (but certainly not all) video game sequels, it’ll probably be better.

