The Night Of is simply brilliant.

I doubt this post will be too long. I can’t think of any aspect of the show that I disliked & I don’t want to touch upon much of the plot or characters, out of fear of spoiling anything.

Both John Turturro and Riz Ahmed are great. I imagine they’ll be getting plenty of awards for their work here. John Turturro in particular,  because he manages to create a highly sympathetic character that you can’t help but feel sorry for & yet he’s also a strong character & a source of comedy.

The Night Of doesn’t just boast a fabulous cast & story. It’s quite possibly one of the best looking shows I’ve ever seen. The direction & cinematography are great. They do a good job of creating a dark, foreboding mood/atmosphere that’s clearly inspired from classic film noir.

One of the impressive things about the show is the way in which it plays with expectations. I never once knew where the show was headed & there would numerous plot points that had me thinking one thing only for events to lead into something completely different. For a TV show in this day in age, the fact that it manages to do this is very impressive.

I’m hesitant to say much more. I don’t want to spoil it & I think what the show is about is supposed to be up for interpretation. It could be about many things. I’ll also say that the messages & themes conveyed, are far more important than the actual surface level story, even if they’re presented in a less than subtle manner at times.

I can’t praise The Night Of enough. It’s certainly one of the best shows this year & it’s quite possibly one of my favourite shows of all time (I’m still debating it). Seriously, go and watch it!

