It’s been a long time since the second season of telltale’s the walking dead came out. 2 long years. I couldn’t help but wonder if I could remember everything that happened. I didn’t want to go back and replay it, because of the choice based narrative of these games. To my surprise, whether I remembered exact details is irrelevant. Season three of Telltale’s The Walking Dead is a good starting point for people who haven’t played the brilliant first 2 seasons because here, we have a new protagonist and a significant time jump.

For players like myself, who have played the first 2 seasons, there’s a little bit more to it. Clementine, the young protagonist of season 2 and a major supporting character from season 1 returns. If the first two episodes are anything to go by, she’s more mature, darker and more experienced. It also proves that like season 1, she’s better as a supporting character.

Her introduction into season 3 is great. I won’t go into specifics but I had a constant grin on my face throughout her first scene. It made me realise just how good this series is and how much I’ve missed it.

In terms of story, this is fairly typical zombie apocalypse material. You meet some people, find a settlement, get into arguments (or stay out of them depending on player choice) and of course you kill some zombies. The walking dead has never really been about story though, it’s about the characters. So far, there are a couple of interesting individuals but nothing amazing or noteworthy. However, the villains of this season require further development (if the end of episode 2 is anything to go by, I think that’ll happen in episode 3) and I’m a little annoyed at telltale’s inclusion of a popular comic book & tv character. The inclusion of said character feels a little forced and I’d have preferred to have seen a fresh, original character instead.

Gameplay is also typical telltale material. You engage in conversations, investigate environments and fight via quick time events. There’s nothing new on display here, which is a little disappointing but not entirely unexpected.

The 1st two episodes of The Walking Dead: A New Frontier are great. They remind me why I loved the first two seasons and they’re just as good as the best episodes from the previous seasons. I’m eagerly anticipating the rest of the series because at about 2 hours each, I flew through these episodes.

