La La Land received a lot of acclaim when it first came out. It went on to be a critical and commercial hit and it was nominated for dozens of awards. My expectations for the film were therefore pretty high.

While I don’t think I liked it as much as I’d have hoped to have, or rather , should’ve. I did like La La Land.

La La Land is a fun, quirky film bolstered by two brilliant lead performances and a relatable, engaging story. The film is very well written and directed and it features great cinematography and choreography.

You may have noticed that I’ve yet to mention the music. La La Land is a musical, or it at least makes use of the genre. Sadly, I think the music is the worst thing about the film. I only really liked one song and I felt as though the music wasn’t placed very well. For example, there are a bunch of songs at the beginning and towards the end of the film, but there’s a stretch of screen time in the middle of the film where the music kinda vanishes. That’s not really a complaint, just an odd observation. 

La La Land is a good film. It’s highly enjoyable and fun to watch and it barely does anything wrong or bad. However, the music might not be for everyone.

